Toronado Resto-Mod?????

General discussion forum. Moderated. Keep it clean and nice folks.
en-gedi
TOA Membership Number: 0
Years Owned: 1967-1970

Toronado Resto-Mod?????

Postby en-gedi » Tue Apr 20, 2010 4:54 pm

Hello All,
I am new to TOA and glad to be a part of the community.
I have recently acquired several Toronados 1967-1970. They are in varying states of repair and I have some questions to ask about restoring them.
I know that with certain cars it is taboo to make too many modifications to the original.
What is the popular opinion when it comes to the 1st generation Toronado?
I am particularly interested in making some styling modification to make the car a little more “sporty.” After all a Toronado may be “luxury” but it is anything but “sporty.”
Now when I talk modifications I mean a tasteful resto-mod that makes some performance enhancements but also some external changes like a lift kit for the back, maybe a tasteful hood scoop or cowl, racing stripes, a period appropriate rear spoiler and such.
I know Leno did some serious modifications under the hood for his Toro but retained a more stock looking exterior.
Are some years off limits and other years anything goes?
Any opinions?
Thanks for any feedback.

janeg
TOA Membership Number: 42
Years Owned: 1966 Deluxe and 1992 Trofeo

Re: Toronado Resto-Mod?????

Postby janeg » Wed Apr 21, 2010 6:21 am

Hi and welcome.

They are your cars, so you can do what you like, of course.... Most people seem to prefer stock. It would depend to me on the condition of the various cars. The ones most in demand are the 66 and then the 67, so I guess I would suggest doing your mods on one of the other three.
Jane G
TOA #042
Membership Director

toro_mike
TOA Membership Number: 4
Years Owned: 1968 and 1969 W34

Postby toro_mike » Wed Apr 21, 2010 8:55 am

janeg wrote:Hi and welcome.